RUMOR HAS IT: 85th ACADEMY AWARDS WILL PUT THE END TO IT TONIGHT

Image

BEST PICTURE: Argo (Ben Affleck)

POSSIBLE SPOILERS: Lincoln (Spielberg) of God forbid Zero Dark Thirty (Bigelow)

I SAULT TO: Beasts of the Southern Wild (Benh Zeitlin)

Image

BEST DIRECTOR: Ang Lee (Life of Pi)

POSSIBLE SPOILER: Steven Spielberg (Lincoln) or David O. Russel (Silver Linings Playbook)

I SALUT TO: Benh Zeitlin (Beasts) and Michael Haneke (Amour)

If Argo wins tonight it will the first film to do so without a best director nomination in 24 years – ever since Driving Miss Daisy won in 1989. The reason tells us, Spielberg is the next best thing although much safer choices would be Life of Pi or Silver Linings playbook.  The former is not insulting anyone, it is a CGI wonder and a feel good film. The latter has two advantages: it has nothing to do with any real events (except insofar as mental illness, dance competitions and Philadelphia Eagles all exist) plus, it is by far the most trivial film of all the nominees, in all categories.

Image

BEST ACTOR: Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

POSSIBLE SPOILER: Hugh Jackman (Les Miserables)

I SALUT TO: Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)

There is no doubt in my mind that Daniel Day-Lewis will go home tonight with his third Oscar win BUT one – Joaquin Phoenix was nominated two times thus far and has won none. First time it was as supporting actor for his role of Commodus in Gladiator (he lost to Benicio del Torro for Traffic) wheres the second time he was nominated in the category of best actor for his role of Johnny Cash in Walk the Line but ironically he lost to Philip Seymour Hoffman.  Academy likes to be “fair” so we will see if Day-Lewis’s third win will be Phoenix’s third loss. As for the roles they are both equally superb. However, I am prone to Paul Thomas Anderson’s performances, and in this particular case Freddie Quell – sex obsessed alcoholic, war veteran suffering from post traumatic stress disorder, a sociopath and magic potion maker of some sorts, physically distoreted photographer who went a bit mad, member and a PR of a cult called The Cause – is my absolute winner, even against beloved Daniel Plainview Day-Lewis.

Image

BEST ACTRESS: Jeniffer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

POSSIBLE SPOILER: Emanuelle Riva (Amour)

I SALUT TO: Quvenzhane Wallis  (Beasts) and Emanuelle Riva (Amour)

I don’t know. I might be the only person on this planet that wasn’t wowed by Jenifer Lawrence and her portrail of Tiffany. There was nothing in this role that was extraordinary. And there were these moments when I felt that she is whats wrong with the film.  It was all too much for me, far too many cliches.  Instead, my favorite candidate is Emanuelle Riva althought I would not mind if little Quvenzhane wins. My logic tells me its Riva’s time, first of all because she’s been around for quite some time and she’s been good so this Oscar might have a twofold meaning, a lifetime achievement award and a birthday present (she turned 86 today). Actually, anyone BUT Jessica Chastain as far as I am concerned.

Image

BEST SUPPORTIG ACTOR:  Christoph Waltz (Django)

POSSIBLE SPOILER: Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

I SALUT TO the Master: Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)

Why should Tommy Lee Jones win, well, that’s beyond me. I don’t have a slightest idea. But everybody is talking about his masterful performance. Christopher Waltz on the other hand has won fair amount of awards for his role of Colonel Landa, sorry, for Alan Cowan. No. Who was he playing again? Dr. Shultz. Yes. Well I think he should make up his mind. Second, he has already won an Oscar for this role in this exact category couple of years back. Sure he is charming and wonderful but…you know. So I vote for Hoffman who is always superb. His character transformations are fantastic and he always seems to have the ability to breathe the life into his characters, just think of Scotty J, Phil Parma, Caden Cotard, Father Brendan Flynn, Capote and Lancaster Dodd, a homo-erotic scientist-writer-philosopher who is above all just a man, helplessly inquisited charismatic leader of a cult. I rest my case.

Image

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Ann Hathaway (Les Miserables)

NO POSSIBLE SPOILERS

I SALUTE TO: Amy Adams (The Master) and Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)

Amy Adams was creepy as hell but Ann Hathaway was so miserable that she even cut her hair shot and sang about it. Even Amy’s handjob doesn’t stand a chance with this one.

BEST FOREIGN FILM: Amour (Michale Haneke)

NO POSSIBLE SPOILERS

I SALUT TO: Amour (Michael Haneke)

Considering Amour is the only non-American conteder in the category for the Best Picture this one seems like the only right thing.  And truth be told, Amour has among top 5 of all the nominees in all categories, if it’s not the best film of this year (after The Master and Holy Motors I must add).

Image

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: Django Unchained (Quentin Tarantino)

POSSIBLE SPOILER: Zero Dark Thirty (Mark Boal)

I SALUT TO: Amour (Michael Haneke)

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: Argo (Chris Terrio)

POSSIBLE SPOILER: Lincoln (Tony Kushner)

I SALUTE TO: Beasts of the Southern Wild (Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin)

So. Lets wait and see. It starts in less than 12 hours.

Like me on Facebook to keep up to date.

Leave a Reply

